Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

St. James Infirmary Blues (traditional).  All parts (vocals, bass guitar, trumpet) performed by Mark Snyder.

I have wanted to record this for a long time.  This song goes back about 400 years and has a fascinating history.

 

I went down to St. James Infirmary
To see my baby there,
She’s laid out on a cold white table,
So cold, so white, so fair.

Let her go, let her go, bless her;
Wherever she may be
She may search this wide world over
She’ll never find a man like me.

Oh, when I die, bury me
In my high top Stetson hat;
Put a twenty-dollar gold piece on my watch chain
So the boys will know I died standing pat.

I want six crap shooters for pall bearers.
Chorus gonna to sing me a song.
Put a jazz band on my hearse wagon.
Raise Hell as I roll along.

Now that I’ve told my story,
I’ll take another shot of booze.
And if anyone should happen to ask you,
I’ve got those St. James Infirmary blues.

